Main content of this page

Anchor links to the different areas of information in this page:

You are here: drupa 2016. News.

drupa 2016: Committee adds seven additional global players

drupa 2016: Committee adds seven additional global players


Baumann Maschinenbau, bielomatik, Electronics for Imaging,
Hewlett Packard International, Leonhard Kurz Stiftung,
manroland web systems and technotrans

The drupa 2016 committee has added seven global players from the international manufacturing sector: Effective immediately, Baumann Maschinenbau, bielomatik, Electronics for Imaging/EFI, Hewlett Packard International, Leonhard Kurz Stiftung, manroland web systems and technotrans will have a seat on the most important drupa panel.

“With this decision we’re taking into account current developments in the printing and media industry – above all the following aspects: the growing significance of digital printing with the resulting demands on post-press operations, continually increasing automation across all process stages and the mega trends value-added printing and packaging. I’m delighted that we were able to secure the involvement of these global players in the drupa committee,” said Werner Matthias Dornscheidt, President and CEO of Messe Düsseldorf, about this important decision.

“We are delighted about the strong commitment of industry representatives on the drupa Committee. The involvement of these manufacturers underscores drupa’s central role in the sector worldwide. The variety of technologies proves that drupa is the world’s leading trade fair for printing and media technology”, said Dr. Markus Heering, Managing Director Markus Heering of the VDMA associations Printing and Paper Technology as well as Security Systems.

The 26-member committee – together with Messe Düsseldorf, which has organised drupa since 1951 – makes key policy decisions about the print media trade fair, including, for example, the recent decision to shorten the length of the trade fair to eleven days while maintaining the Olympic four-year cycle. It is comprised of representatives from the exhibiting industry and represents drupa’s entire technology spectrum – from pre-media to printing to post-press processing or packaging production and paper processing, respectively, as well as the paper and printing ink industry. The user side is also represented on the Committee by a diverse range of media service providers. Also represented are the five most important industry associations, specifically:

  • Printing and Paper Technology Association (Fachverband Druck- und Papiertechnik) within the VDMA (German Engineering Federation), Frankfurt

  • German Printing and Media Industries Federation (Bundesverband Druck und Medien e.V), Berlin

  • Paper-Processing Trade Associations (Wirtschaftsverbände Papierverarbeitung), Darmstadt

  • German Pulp and Paper Association (Verband Deutscher Papierfabriken e.V.), Bonn

  • German Printing Ink Industry Association (Verband der deutschen Lack- und Druckfarbenindustrie e.V.), Frankfurt

The drupa 2016 steering committee consists of the President, Dipl.-Ing. Claus Bolza-Schünemann (CEO of Koenig & Bauer AG) and the Vice-President and Chairman of the Admissions Committee Dr. Jürgen Vutz (CEO of Windmöller & Hölscher KG). Second Vice-President is Rolf Schwarz, President of the German Printing and Media Industries Federation.

The drupa 2016 Committee at a glance:

  • Baumann Maschinenbau Solms
    Volkmar Assmann, Managing Partner

  • bielomatik Leuze
    Dirk Vößing, Managing Director

  • Blase Holding GmbH & Co. KG
    Thomas Struckmeier, Managing Partner

  • bvdm – German Printing and Media Industries Federation
    Dr. Paul Deimel, Managing Director

  • Druckzentrum KölnWest GmbH
    Dipl. Wirtsch.-Ing. Wolfgang Brügelmann, Managing Partner

  • Electronics for Imaging/EFI
    Frank Tückmantel, Vice President Corporate Marketing

  • Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG
    Marcel Kiessling, Member of the Management Board

  • Hewlett Packard International
    Francois Martin, Worldwide Marketing Manager

  • Jänecke + Schneemann Druckfarben GmbH
    Friedhelm Jänecke, Member of Management

  • Koenig & Bauer AG
    Dipl.-Ing. Claus Bolza-Schünemann, CEO and drupa President

  • Kolbus GmbH & Co. KG
    Dipl.-Ing. Kai Büntemeyer, Managing Partner

  • Leonhard Kurz Stiftung Fürth
    Walter Kurz, Chairman of the Executive Board

  • manroland web systems
    Eckhard Hörner-Maraß, Managing Director

  • Adolf Mohr Maschinenfabrik
    Dr. Markus Rall, Managing Director

  • Rheinische-Bergische Druckerei GmbH
    Matthias Tietz, CEO

  • Süddeutscher Zeitungsdienst Druckerei und Verlagsgesellschaft mbH
    Bernhard Theiss, Managing Partner

  • Sun Chemical AG
    Robert F. Fitzka, Group Managing Director

  • technotrans Sassenberg
    Dr. Christof Soest, Member of the Executive Board

  • Druck- und Verlagshaus Thiele & Schwarz GmbH
    Rolf Schwarz, Managing Director and drupa Vice-President

  • UPM Sales GmbH
    Ulrich Neumann, Sales Director

  • VdL – Verband der deutschen Lack- und Druckfarbenindustrie e.V.
    Dr. Martin Kanert, Managing Director

  • VDP – Verband Deutscher Papierfabriken
    Klaus Windhagen, Director General

  • VDMA – Fachverband Druck- und Papiertechnik
    Dr. Markus Heering, Managing Director

  • Windmöller & Hölscher KG
    Dr. Jürgen Vutz, CEO and drupa Vice-President

  • WPV – Wirtschaftsverbände Papierverarbeitung
    Thomas Pfeiffer, Managing Director

  • J.F. Ziegler KG Druckerei und Verlag
    Dr. Wolfgang Pütz, Managing Partner

Messe Düsseldorf GmbH
drupa 2016 Press Office

Monika Kissing
Anne Schröer (assistant)
Tel. +49(0)211-4560 543
Fax +49(0)211-4560 8548

Further details are available at as well as on social networks:



More informations and functions